What happens to my GC Google Apps account after I leave Goshen College?
Posted by Patricia Goodman on 31 July 2013 03:57 PM

Students

Students who leave Goshen College (either due to graduating or withdrawing, can continue to use their GC Google Apps account for 6 months following the date of the last class taken at GC.  After 6 months, your GC Google Apps account will be shut down and any files still stored in your GC Google Apps account will be deleted. Click here to see our knowledgebase article on how to retrieve those files prior to your account being shut down.

 

Employees

Employee Google Apps Accounts get shut down at the same time that the employee's Goshen College account gets shut down.  Typically when an employee leaves employment with Goshen College, their accounts will shut down immediately after their last day of employment. Special arrangements to extend account access for a short period of time can be made, with the combined approval of your supervisor and the Director of Human Resources. Five calendar days following when your GC Google Apps account is shut down, any files that you had in it will be permanently deleted.  Click here to see our knowledgebase article on how to retrieve those files prior to your account being shut down

It is important for a departing employee to make sure that any files that are in their Google Drive are dealt with before their account is shut down. The following items will guide you through what you must do prior to your last day of employment: 

  1. If you have files in your Google Drive account, download those files and save them to your M:\MyDocuments folder on the campus network. Click here to see our knowledgebase article on how to retrieve those files prior to your account being shut down
  2. Notify your supervisor that the Google Drive files have been downloaded to your M: drive and let them know the location.
  3. If you choose to not download your Google Files, but you have shared some Google files with others, you must inform them that they need to save a copy of that shared file to either a new location in their Google Drive, or download the shared file to their M:\MyDocuments folder on the M: drive.

Remember: Once your Google Drive account has been shut down, Google only gives us 5 calendar days to re-activate an account so that files can be recovered.  After the 5 calendar days, Google completely deletes all of the files and there is no possibility of retrieving the files, no exceptions! 

 

If you have any questions, or need assistance, please contact the ITS Help Desk at 574-535-7700. 

 

pg 7/31/13

(0 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)
Post a new comment
 
 
Full Name:
Email:
Comments: